A Compilation of All My Recent Goings-Ons* P.S. If You Read All Of This, You’re Awesome and Probably Really Bored!

So hello all! As promised I’m back with a shiny new post and an apology for my slackness lately! But I have an itemized list as proof that I have been rather productive. So it all started in mid-March:

15th March-Started seriously (I say seriously because I started getting things together for it earlier that week but Saturday is when I actually started it)ย  working on my Spring Into Art project. I started gluing newspaper articles on my giant luan panel board, what a fun Saturday afternoon that was!

17th-24th (minus Sunday) March-Continued working on my SIA project. Finished it that Monday after a tiny mishap but my friend Sarah to the rescue! But while I was working on it, another friend of mine needed some posters done. They were going to be background props for her Lads to Leaders puppets. And they needed to be done by the 9th of April, so that deadline was in the back of my mind while I was working on my own project. Although to help, I kind of put my mom to work painting the background of the posters. And she was crazy fast doing it, so many thanks to her! But thank goodness I finished my SIA project that Monday, couldn’t believe it was actually done but woot!

25th March-On Tuesdays I have an art student that I tutor for 3 hours in theย  afternoon, so that’s pretty much work-wise what my day revolves around. Although that night, I got the posters ready for me to start working on the next day.

26th March-7th April-Worked like a beast on those posters…I was a machine! And the Saturday before the 7th, I was practically done but noooo! I wasn’t satisfied, not at all. I felt the need to add to more my workload and added another factor to them but in the end, I’m really glad I did because they look so much better. My friend needed comic book-like posters of superheroes (which of course I love comic book art, and these are all directly from my noodle), so here’s the end results:

wpid-img_20140408_125620.jpgwpid-img_20140408_125754.jpgwpid-img_20140408_125901.jpgwpid-img_20140408_130007.jpg wpid-img_20140408_130055.jpg wpid-img_20140408_130203.jpg wpid-img_20140408_130251.jpg wpid-img_20140408_130337.jpg

7th April-Spring Into Art! More on that, (hopefully) for the next post. Also I got a call from the Corbetts, who I’ve worked with and they needed a plywood cow painted. By the by, I am a flippin’ master when it comes to painting cows! It needed to be done by Friday, challenge accepted!

8th April: Jam packed day! That afternoon at 2, I was expecting a repair guy to come to my house and he didn’t show up until like 2:40 (major lateness, huge pet peeve of mine!). After that guy left, Mr. Mark, brought said plywood cow over, so another project to work on. ALSO in addition to this afternoon, I was meeting another potential student that I was going to work with around 4. It went well, so now I have 2 art students, both 9th grade girls but completely different! Not really pertaining to the busy part but my mom and I went to Pizza Hut for the Tuscani Tuesday pasta deals and it took forever! Or maybe I was just hangry…which is not a pleasant side of mine.

9th & 10th April-Painted a black and white plywood cow. That Thursday afternoon (I worked outside since the cow was so big) after working for 4 hours, I felt disgusting and I had our church’s Sisters To Sisters Meeting that night. So after the cow got completed around 5, I left my mom out there to finish cleaning (don’t judge, she loves to clean!) and I scrubbed for like an hour to get clean and man I felt better afterwards! Finished cow equals mission accomplished!

11th April-Mr. Mark came to pick up Gertrude (the cow) and I also started checking my over 900 emails that had accumulated over all of this time. That sucked majorly! Lots of deletes and now I’m finally down to like 50, phew! Also had every intention of starting cleaning my Cat Cave (my workroom) because after 3 weeks of regular work, it was neglected and rather disastrous. But that didn’t start til the next day and even then it was only like an hour and half.

12th April-Went to Michaels and took advantage of their lowest sale of the season and dropped some dough (I was NOT expecting that total!) on art supplies. With two students, I had to re-stock my supplies and also treated myself to some yarn and knitting needles. Oh yeah, I’ve taken up knitting because I have hardly no free time for anything else, so having another hobby is the smart thing to do right?** Then supper at Wooden Nickel with my parents, my oldest bro and the sis-in-law and the nephews. Cake soon followed.

13th April-Palm Sunday and Family Day at church. Family Day is when everybody at my church brings a covered dish and we feast like kings. There are some pretty amazing cooks at my church. Then that afternoon, a small group from church (myself and my Dad included) went to sing at a nursing home. I have to say, we all sound pretty darn good. Mormon Tabernacle Choir look out!

14th April-First session with my new student and she brought some crackers for snacks, so yeah she’s awesome. I was nervous but excited about it. So we talked about Leonardo Da Vinci and what all she wanted to work on. So I’m going to try and be an overachiever and make lessons plans for my padawans like a real teacher. Notice I said “try”. Worked a little on the Cat Cave.

15th April-Regular afternoon session with my other student who is crazy good at painting fruit. After that and supper, I went back to work on the Cat Cave, determined to do more. That night I moved papers, canvas, folders, and books and all sorts of other stuff for like 2 hours. Was super pleased with my progress but arms felt like they were going to fall off!

16th April-FINALLY finished the Cat Cave! It looks so nice and shiny and organized! I put my pictures back up on the wall and I took pictures as evidence that it was once clean. Here’s proof:

wpid-img_20140412_141026.jpg
Before and yeah it may not look bad but it was.
wpid-img_20140416_165102.jpg
Ta-Da! After!

Then that night, I had church and came home and worked on checking emails. And what better way to end the night than by trying to start learning to crochet in the round?

17th April-So that brings us up to today, overly dramatic sigh! Went with my mom (Mutti) to buy a shirt for Easter (a little tradition I have every year to buy a new shirt for Easter, got one, cha-ching) and that followed with a trip to the grocery store. Which resulted in not getting home til 2 and eating a lunch of Apple Jacks at 2:30. I know professional adult right here. Then after checking some more emails, I started this post. Had a fantastic supper, cabbage with sausage was consumed. Here I am, back in the Cat Cave finishing this post. But not after working with some papier mache and getting some stuff ready for tomorrow to work on.

Anyhoos…so yeah that’s been my past month. Hopefully I will return to normal sauce posting next week. Or maybe not, we’ll see! If you read this entire thing, you are awesome and please leave a comment about how ridiculous it is that I shared every little detail of the past month with you guys. Many thanks!

**P.S. if there is anyone who can provide tips or a video about how to cast on stitches for knitting, PLEASE share! I’ve seen a billion (yes a billion) different ways and I can’t for the life of me, master it!

2 thoughts on “A Compilation of All My Recent Goings-Ons* P.S. If You Read All Of This, You’re Awesome and Probably Really Bored!

Leave a Reply

