Movember Awareness

Movember Awareness
To buy or check it out go to https://www.etsy.com/listing/170016989/movember-awareness-card?

So its November, one of my favorite months (Thanksgiving, my birthday, food, cloudy chilly days, good coffee weather, Thor: The Dark Word, etc). Its also Movember, the awareness campaign in which men will grow out glorious mustaches and beards for mens health issues. One of the biggest health issues facing men is prostate cancer. Early detection and yearly health check-ups can help prevent this. We supported Breast Cancer Month in October for our mothers, sisters, aunts, grandmothers, nieces, friends, etc. Now let’s show the same awareness for our fathers, brothers, uncles, grandfathers, nephews, friends!

My father was diagnosed with Prostate Cancer last month but thank goodness it is the slow-growing kind and has not spread any to the body. He has yet to start any treatments but will once we meet with the oncologist. But there are still so many things we have to thankful for. He is still able to work, he has not shown any signs of slowing down, and has kept a good attitude. We are also thankful the doctors found it when they did!

So needless to say it has been a rather daunting and stress-filled time lately. Cancer is a very scary, draining, and expensive disease. The financial part of cancer is almost as scary as the disease itself.

Anyways, I’m writing this because I want to do my part (since I can’t grow a beard)… (although if I were a man, I bet I could grow a fantastic long dark beard!). I created the above hand-drawn card promoting Movember that I am hoping to sell to raise money. All proceeds will go towards much needed medicine. I have copies of the card made to order and would love to spread the word about prostate cancer awareness and prevention. I am not a good salesperson but I strongly believe every little bit counts. I would appreciate anything anyone has to give even it if just telling others about early detection and how it can save lives.

To check out the card or buy a copy, check out my Etsy shop!

https://www.etsy.com/listing/170016989/movember-awareness-card?

Thanks for reading and for more information about prostate cancer, visit the American Cancer Society.

 

Leave a Reply

