Left Maxillae, Side Skull, Henry Gray

Art like morality consists of drawing the line somewhere-G.K. Chesterton

So this is the probably the most productive I’ve ever been blogging, two in one week..what?! So as promised in my last post here is the story of the other art piece I did this month. While on a mixed media piece, I got a sudden burst of creation and started another drawing. It was a charcoal anatomy illustration to go along with my ongoing anatomy series. Its a depiction of the left maxillae of a skull with part of it opened up. I found a picture of it in an old anatomy & physiology book that my best friend acquired at a garage sale. She bought a box of random books and this was in there. Its really old and cool and the pages are falling out and it smells nice and vintage-y and its been quickly became one of my favorite books. Anyways, this post is supposed to be a drawing, so here’s the progression of it started:

My first initial sketch from the book
My first initial sketch from the book
The very very beginning, yes I'll admit it looks caveman-like
The very very beginning, yes I’ll admit it looks caveman-like
Step 3, Shading!
Step 3, Shading!
More shading, and no I can't describe what kind of nose bridge that is
More shading, and no I can’t describe what kind of nose bridge that is
Ooh darkness creepin' in!
Ooh darkness creepin’ in!
The almost final step...
The almost final step…

So in a lot of my artwork, I like to include text and especially in my anatomy works. I just included just few terms for which parts are which. See, its art and educational! Here’s the final result:

Title: Left Maxillae, Side Skull 18 in x 24 in, 2013 Charcoal on PaperVoila! If you look closely you can see the text written in the black with white charcoal pencil
Title: Left Maxillae, Side Skull 18 in x 24 in, 2013 Charcoal on Paper
Voila! If you look closely you can see the text written in the black with white charcoal pencil

Well, there’s that. I just hope I can keep the momentum going and keep producing and also keep the blogging up! I’ll leave this note with you all as to why me and any other person who feels the need to create does so:

Lake Park-20130129-01204
Found online, wrote by Cristian Mihai

  On a random note, I dreamed a dream…that my life would a musical…just for one day!

Leave a Reply

