It’s The Most Wonderful…Busiest…Colorful…Bustling Time Of Year! Pt. 2

Anyways…it’s always super duper busy time of year, what with the shopping, the cooking, the decorating, the celebrating, the togetherness, the eating (the best part), etc. At the moment, it’s two weeks until Christmas Eve, I’m eating a fudge coconut snack bar, and listening to my Pandora Christmas station.* I’m also thinking of about all the extra stuff I’ve put on my plate to complete before Christmas. I’ve got three different projects going on in addition little things to finish all in about two weeks. Go me.

Project 1. Christmas Cards

This year I decided to do some hand painted Christmas cards, so I started designing them about two weeks ago.  Then I had to settle on designs, decide how many to do, cut them out, sketch them out, get them ready to be painted, and then finally paint them. It’s the last part that I’m at. I’ve got eighteen drawn out cards that are screaming at me to be painted. Here’s a few examples of them:

IMG_0001IMG_0002

Just a few and once they’re painted, they’ll spring to life with Christmas festive-ness! I’ll be sure to post the finished products.

Project 2: DrawProject

Every year, our local art gallery The Annette Howell Turner Center For The Arts puts on a show where artists submit drawing based on their interpretations of what they think drawing is. Its a silent auction that raises scholarship money for the VSU Art Department. I’ve submitted into it for the last three or four years and thank the good Lord that the submission date was later this year! I’ve been at a complete loss as to what to enter in for the last two weeks. I had been thinking but nothing seemed to be good. Thank goodness I had a breakthrough this past weekend because the deadline is the 21st of December. Then it was feast or famine because then I had too many ideas but today I narrowed it down to one definitive choice. The hardest part of coming up with something is over. Now comes the easy part of actually working on it. Here’s the idea I’m going with:

IMG_0003 Yes I realize it looks a little juvenile but it’s going places! The Bible verse Revelations 6:8 was the inspiration for it. It will a grey tone drawing with the text “Behold a pale horse” at the bottom. More to come on the finished product.

Project 3: Mandi

My best friend’s sister contacted me last month about wanting me to do a special Christmas present for her mom. My best friend Mandi who was killed two years ago in a car crash and her sister wanted me to do a piece based on her for a Christmas present for her mom. Naturally I wanted to do the piece for her mom since their family means so much to me. Then I had a moment of hesitation of “oh my goodness what I am I gonna do to make it super special because it has to be perfect for Mrs. Brenda!”. Then that passed then it went as it usually does into “what am I going to do? How am I going to do it? What materials do I want to use? etc”. So I’ve settled on a text based piece with one of her quotes that she always used “She flies with her own wings”. Here’s the tentative design for it:

IMG_0004 Yes I’m realize I’m going literal with the wings but like the other projects, the design phase is always rough looking.

So that’s where my head is at the moment. Sounds like a lot (and it kind of is) but that’s how I work best. For me as an artist, the hardest part is pinpointing and deciding on a final thought to bring to life as an art piece. But once I have the ideas, I usually work fast in completing a project. That is how I worked in college with my art assignments and apparently it has followed me into my working life

So that’s that. Not to mention painting some picture frames for other presents, finishing my shopping, actually completing the projects, sending off the Christmas cards, dropping off my drawing at the gallery, meeting up with friends, watching all my favorite Christmas movies and specials, and did I mention a fruitcake must be made at some point?

*On a random tangent, the Christmas song “It’s Beginning to Look A Lot Like Christmas” has no meaning here in south Georgia. It’s been in the high 70’s to 80’s this past week! So the Christmasy cold season has been a little hard to come by. Fingers crossed it’ll change soon!

Also a self-promotion note, I’ve been busy also creating some other online accounts to show my work. Here’s a list of where all you can find me online:

Etsy Shop

Flickr Account

Behance Online Portfolio

Facebook C Is For Cathy art page

 

 

2 thoughts on “It’s The Most Wonderful…Busiest…Colorful…Bustling Time Of Year! Pt. 2

  1. My goodness what an industrious one you are! Been a little busy I see. I’m proud of you girl! Hope I can get one of those special Christmas Cards you are making (hint, hint). I love your writing. And, I am happy you are doing it – which is more than I can say for myself. Too busy right now with all of dad’s stuff. However, it has been on my mind lately to write something for Paul ( my 4 year old grandson) about what I want him to know. Especially as it pertains to life and godliness. So,I’m giving it a lot of thought and hopefully I will get to it sooner than later. I also have been thinking for a long time about writing a children’s book and would need someone to help me illustrate it. I want to do it about the moon and the phases it goes through from the standpoint of a baby animal. Haven’t decided which animal yet, probably should be a nocturnal one though – wouldn’t you think? Maybe a baby possum. The idea came to me when I was walking Suzy at night and realized all of a sudden the beautiful moon I had seen the few previous nights wasn’t showing. At first I thought maybe it was cloudy, then (crazy me) after I googled it I realized the phase of the moon had changed and it had actually disappeared! Just think 61 years old and didn’t realize the phases of the moon!!! I suppose I just didn’t think about it much. Anyway, that spurred an idea for a children’s book about the phases of the moon – maybe – if I will get busy on it. What do you think? Think it would go?

    Anyway, I just had to say hello and let you know I am reading your writing and looking at your awesome art! And, I am very impressed!!! Love you girl – C- is for Cathy! Janet

Leave a Reply

